As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn More

Shopping Cart

0

Your shopping bag is empty

Go to the shop

The Shark Caller

£7.99 £6.55

Author: Zillah BethellBrand: USBORNE CAT ANGBinding: PaperbackNumber Of Pages: 400Release Date: 04-02-2021Details: Product Description Dive beneath the waves with this spell-binding adventure of friendship, forgiveness and bravery, set on the shores of Papua New Guinea, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Eva Ibbotson. "I want to be able to...

Author: Zillah Bethell

Brand: USBORNE CAT ANG

Binding: Paperback

Number Of Pages: 400

Release Date: 04-02-2021

Details: Product Description Dive beneath the waves with this spell-binding adventure of friendship, forgiveness and bravery, set on the shores of Papua New Guinea, perfect for fans of Katherine Rundell and Eva Ibbotson. "I want to be able to call the sharks. Teach me the magic and show me the ways." Blue Wing is desperate to become a shark caller, but instead she must befriend infuriating newcomer Maple, who arrives unexpectedly on Blue Wing's island. At first, the girls are too angry to share their secrets and become friends. But when the tide breathes the promise of treasure, they must journey together to the bottom of the ocean to brave the deadliest shark of them all... Review "Above all, this is an exploration of grief and it has such wisdom that there are paragraphs worth copying to save and reread." - The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week "A sweeping, gorgeously told adventure of friendship and forgiveness." - The Bookseller "Magnificent and beautiful." - Sophie Anderson, author of The Girl Who Speaks Bear "The most incredible story." --Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic "A shimmering read that carried me away to a land of sunsets, sharks and adventures!" - A.M. Howell, author of The Garden of Lost Secrets "Outstanding storytelling that is at once moving, heart-stirring and life-affirming." - Books for Topics "This is a book about love and loss and how to cope with them, about tradition and respect, about change and acceptance. It is one which should not be missed." - Books for Keeps "A rare treasure of an adventure." - Sarah Lean, author of The Good Bear "I was blown away by it. A master storyteller with an adventure that will catapult children into wildness and wonder." - --Abi Elphinstone, author of The Dreamsnatcher "Thought-provoking, hopeful and full of atmosphere." - The Week Junior "This exceptional novel, which explores complex emotions of guilt and grief, will remain with the reader long after the final page." - BookTrust "I'm going to shout about this book everywhere I go because it is EXTRAORDINARY!" - Eloise Williams, Children's Laureate Wales "A lyrical lovesong to letting go, longing, loss and the landscape of Papua New Guinea. An exceptional story only Zillah could tell." - Scott Evans, The Reader Teacher "A masterpiece." - Kevin Cobane, VIP Reading "A completely moving, unique and special book." --Ashley Booth, The Teaching Booth About the Author Zillah Bethell was born in the shadow of the volcano Mount Lamington in Papua New Guinea. She grew up without shoes, toys or technology; consequently she spent a lot of time in the sea swimming and in canoes - and occasionally, to earn money, she took tourists gold-panning in the highlands of Wau and Bulolo. Zillah's family returned to the UK when she was ten, and she was eventually educated at Oxford University and now lives in South Wales with her family.

Package Dimensions: 7.7 x 5.1 x 1.1 inches

Languages: English

More Infomation To You

Things you need to know

We use industry standard SSL encryption to protect your details. Potentially sensitive information such as your name, address and card details are encoded so they can only be read on the secure server.

  • Safe Payments
  • Accept Credit Cart
  • Different Payment Method
  • Price Include VAT
  • Easy To Order

Express Delivery

  • Europe & USA within 2-4 days
  • Rest of the world within 3-7 days
  • Selected locations