As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn More

Shopping Cart

0

Your shopping bag is empty

Go to the shop

The Gilded Ones

£8.99 £7.49

Author: Namina FornaBrand: USBORNE CAT ANGEdition: 01Binding: PaperbackNumber Of Pages: 416Release Date: 04-02-2021Details: Product Description A New York Times bestseller. The must-read epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot and Refinery 29. In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect...

Author: Namina Forna

Brand: USBORNE CAT ANG

Edition: 01

Binding: Paperback

Number Of Pages: 416

Release Date: 04-02-2021

Details: Product Description A New York Times bestseller. The must-read epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot and Refinery 29. In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death. She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed... "Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one." -Buzzfeed "[A] stormingly good debut" - The Observer "Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy." - Refinery 29 "The Gilded Ones redefines sisterhood and is sure to leave readers both inspired and ultimately hopeful." --Stephanie Garber, #1 NYT bestselling author of Caraval "The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." - Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken "Debut author Namina Forna's created a fierce female protagonist you'll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it." - Bookriot Review "Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one."- BuzzFeed "[A] stormingly good debut" - The Observer "Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy." - Refinery 29 "This is an empowering read that you won t want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike" - Press Association "Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading." - The Irish News "This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike." - Irish Examiner "Debut author Namina Forna's created a fierce female protagonist you'll root for and a captivating world that feels so real you can step inside it." - Bookriot "The Gilded Ones is a fierce, unflinching fantasy that marks Forna as a debut to watch." - --Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of And I Darken "Haunting, brutal, and oh-so-relevant. This book will suck you into a world where girls bleed gold, magic fills the air, and the real monsters hide behind words instead of claws." --Roseanne A. Brown, New York Times bestselling author of A Song of Wraiths and Ruin "Formidable heroines and a thoughtful feminist mythology distinguish debut author Forna's West Africa-inspired fantasy trilogy launch. Abundant action drives the pace, while a nuanced plot advocates social change by illustrating the myriad ways in which society cages and commodifies women." --Publishers Weekly About the Author Namina Forna is a young adult novelist and the Indie and New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Ones. Forna was born in Sierra Leone, West Africa, where her father and grandmother raised her on fantastic stories of Africa’s epic past. She moved to America when she was nine and settled just outside of Atlanta, Georgia, where she was valedictorian of her high school. For undergrad, she attended Spelman College as a Presidential Scholar and graduated Magna Cum Laude and Phi Beta Kappa with a BA in English. Forna then continued to the MFA film production program at the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts, where she graduated with honors. In 2018, Forna sold her first novel, The Gilded Ones, in a significant six-figure deal, and then swiftly sold the movie rights with herself attached as screenwriter and Misha Green (Underground, Lovecraft Country) attached to produce. She is the first Sierra Leonean to have a major young adult book deal, and the first to have a major film deal. For

Languages: English

More Infomation To You

Things you need to know

We use industry standard SSL encryption to protect your details. Potentially sensitive information such as your name, address and card details are encoded so they can only be read on the secure server.

  • Safe Payments
  • Accept Credit Cart
  • Different Payment Method
  • Price Include VAT
  • Easy To Order

Express Delivery

  • Europe & USA within 2-4 days
  • Rest of the world within 3-7 days
  • Selected locations