As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. Learn More

Shopping Cart

0

Your shopping bag is empty

Go to the shop

Sumac: Recipes and stories from Syria

£25.00 £16.82

Author: Anas AtassiEdition: 01Binding: HardcoverFormat: IllustratedNumber Of Pages: 248Release Date: 04-03-2021Details: Product Description "Totally stunning" - BBC GoodFood Perfect for fans of Ottolenghi, Joudie Kalla, John Gregory Smith, Sabrina Ghayour, Falastin and Honey & Co. Bordering six countries, Syria is a focused area of diversity that has seen countless influences...

Author: Anas Atassi

Edition: 01

Binding: Hardcover

Format: Illustrated

Number Of Pages: 248

Release Date: 04-03-2021

Details: Product Description "Totally stunning" - BBC GoodFood Perfect for fans of Ottolenghi, Joudie Kalla, John Gregory Smith, Sabrina Ghayour, Falastin and Honey & Co. Bordering six countries, Syria is a focused area of diversity that has seen countless influences over the centuries. Syrian Arabs, Kurds, Tuerkemens, Assyrians, Armenians and Greeks and Sunnis, Christians, Alawites and Yazidis have all left their mark on Syria, not least to the country’s food culture. Modern-day Syrian dishes vary immensely, from those that seem Mediterranean (in Tartus), that have Turkish or Armenian flavours (in Aleppo), or that are kept simple and subtle (in Damascus). But one shared ingredient through all of these cultures and influences is Sumac. This deep-red spice is the ‘red thread’ that connects every dish and is the red thread that will guide you through this book. A tribute to his homeland, Anas Atassi’s Sumac is an exquisitely photographed cookbook full of recipes that have been passed down through time. Featuring everything from the wonderful Friday breakfasts Anas often ate in his grandmother's garden and his mother's sfeeha (small savoury pies) to za’atar flatbread, batata harra (spicy potatoes), sayadiyah (spicy fish pilaf with caramelised onions) and Zahra (spicy roasted cauliflower) which he enjoys making for his friends. Each of the 80 traditional and contemporary recipes in this cookbook retains the heart of Syrian family life―a family life shared by the majority of Syrians before the war cast them out across the whole world. Sumac includes dishes for: Grilled Aubergine with Yoghurt Sauce (Sheikh Mushatah) Chicken Shish Kebab (Shish Tawook) Filo Pastries with Meat and Rice Filling (Ouzi) Chickpeas in Yoghurt Tahini Sauce (Musabaha) Eggs with Beef and Courgette (Mufarakeh) Tomato Soup with Barley and Lamb Shank (Shorbat Ameh) Fish with Sumac Tahini Sauce (Tajen Samak) Ashta and Caramel Bread ‘Cheesecake’ (Aish El Saraya) Forgotten Date Cake " Review Totally stunning --Keith Kendrick, BBC GoodFood About the Author Anas Atassi was born in Homs in Syria and now lives in Amsterdam. He has a great love for cooking and cherishes the memories of Syria from his childhood. The personal stories in Sumak were the inspiration for the dishes and build a bridge between Syrian culture and the world, with good food as a common denominator. He speaks English fluently, confident to do media and radio.

Package Dimensions: 10.1 x 7.8 x 1.1 inches

Languages: English

More Infomation To You

Things you need to know

We use industry standard SSL encryption to protect your details. Potentially sensitive information such as your name, address and card details are encoded so they can only be read on the secure server.

  • Safe Payments
  • Accept Credit Cart
  • Different Payment Method
  • Price Include VAT
  • Easy To Order

Express Delivery

  • Europe & USA within 2-4 days
  • Rest of the world within 3-7 days
  • Selected locations